San Antonio Hit and Run Lawyer
Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Under Texas Law, it is a serious crime to leave the scene of an accident. If you are a driver and you are involved in an accident that results in property damage or injury, you have a legal obligation to stop at the scene and:
Render assistance to injured parties
Provide contact, driver and insurance information to the other driver or drivers, or to the owner of the property that was damaged
Even when the accident was not your fault, you have the duty to stop as soon as is safely possible and take these actions. If you do not, you are at risk of facing hit and run charges.
In San Antonio, Texas, hit and run may be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor – depending upon the consequences of the accident. If a person is convicted of hit and run causing serious injury or death, he or she may face up to 5 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000. Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damage alone is a Class B or Class C misdemeanor, depending upon the amount of damage.
Attorney for Hit and Run Charges in San Antonio, Texas
If you have been accused of hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident, you have the right to seek legal counsel. San Antonio criminal attorney Tylden Shaeffer offers a free initial consultation to discuss your particular charges and determine how he can assist you. As a board certified criminal defense lawyer and a former prosecutor, Mr. Shaeffer is more than qualified to thoroughly evaluate your case and make an accurate assessment of your charges in order to build an aggressive defense strategy on your behalf.
If you are facing hit and run charges in Central Texas, contact San Antonio hit and run defense lawyer Tylden Shaeffer today!